Moments of Magic Vs. Moments of Misery

Image

 

It only takes a moment to win or lose a customer, and in today’s competitive business climate retaining them is becoming more critical than ever.

The other day in class, my professor brought up the idea of “moments of magic vs. moments of misery,” inspired by Shep Hyken’s book. This is referring to the opportunities that companies are presented with when a customer has a problem or issue. How companies choose to handle these instances speak volumes about the brand and their culture.

We have all had our share of experiences with companies that have left us feeling extremely happy, or considerably angry. I recently had an experience with Groupon that opened my eyes to how powerful this concept can really be.

I purchased a Groupon for a nail service (from a reputable salon in Rochester, NY) and ended up being very dissatisfied with the quality of my mani and pedi. On instinct I sent out a tweet to Groupon expressing my dissatisfaction, and they commented back in a timely manner. In less than an hour, they provided me with a number to call, stating that they would be happy to help.

The customer service representative was extremely accommodating, friendly, and apologetic for my dissatisfaction. Without hassle she looked up my account and after apologizing again, credited my Groupon account for the exact amount I had spent on my service. Because I was extremely satisfied with this experience, I decided to tweet Groupon again and express my feelings. They pulled up my customer service rep and rewarded her for making my “moment of magic” a reality. Talk about an employee incentive program that really works. Not only did they help me resolve my problems, they restored my faith in the brand. 

However, this could have ended another way. If the customer service rep had been rude, or done nothing to address my concerns, you better believe I would have expressed my opinions. Negative word of mouth can be detrimental to a brand. Think about it, I guarantee the number of people you told about your negative experience with a brand was a lot more than on the flip side. With social media conveniently at our fingertips (across various platforms), companies really should think before they act in regards with customer service. The opportunity is there to make things right, and if they consider the repercussions of their actions, a lot more moments of magic could be happening. 

At the end of the day, the power lays in the companies hands. It really is up to them whether that critical moment ends in misery, or magic. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

